• July 20, 2021

Capitol Riot Commission: Kevin McCarthy selects 5 Republicans

House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy (R-CA) speaks about the formation of a select committee to investigate the Jan. 6 riot on Capitol Hill at a press conference in Washington, DC, on 1 July 2021. (Jonathan Ernst / Reuters)

House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy has selected the five Republicans to serve on the select committee investigating the Capitol riots that is scheduled to meet for its first hearing on July 27, ensuring representation. Republican on the recently appointed panel.

The Republican seats awarded by the House resolution will be filled by Representatives Jim Banks from Indiana, Jim Jordan from Ohio, Rodney Davis from Illinois, Kelly Armstrong from North Dakota and freshman Troy Nehls from Texas, with Banks as the highest-ranking Republican, McCarthy reported. CNN.

As Banks, Jordan and Nehls voted to challenge the 2020 presidential election results in the battlefield states of Arizona and Pennsylvania, citing irregularities and possible fraud, Armstrong and Davis joined the majority bloc to certify the election result. and declare Joe Biden the winner.

The Speaker of the House of Representatives, Nancy Pelosi, has already nominated seven members, including Republican Representative Liz Cheney, who was ousted from her leadership position in the House for her criticism of Trump, to fill the eight seats designated for them. Democrats help carry out the bipartisan investigation of Congress.

Under the House resolution, McCarthy can choose a list of five Republicans to participate in the investigation “in consultation” with Pelosi, but she can ultimately reject her options. Pelosi told CNN that she is reviewing her selections.

The committee’s first hearing will feature witnesses from the United States Capitol Police Department and the Metropolitan Police Department who will testify about the events during and before the January 6 riot on the Capitol grounds.

Send a tip to the news team at NR.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *